La Liberté de S’éleve

I’ve been very conflicted with how to post about this following piece since it is very personal to me in ways in which I am not ready to completely describe just yet. So, bear with me as this post could be somewhat vague. However, no worries, I will post about this specific piece again in the future, but I want to be able to show you all now. It’s my new favorite piece, and has found a resting place on the wall above my bed.

Recently, and coincidentally, very timely, I came across a quote by a man named Joseph Campbell (okay okay, I didn’t come across it all on my own, Ezra totally said it on Pretty Little Liars, and after hearing it, I had to look it up):

“We must be willing to let go of the life we planned so as to have the life that is waiting for us.”

This quote is what influenced this piece, and I feel like it sums up the emotions contained within this collage titled, La Liberté de S’éleve. This quote rings so true and speaks to me in ways that I cannot describe in words, but thankfully, I can through my art. This piece represents climbing out of the cage you contain yourself in, or away from whatever is trapping or holding you back, and soaring to reach your absolute potential, even if that potential could lead you down a scary path filled with unknown and unfamiliar adventures; however, doing so with strength knowing that this change could quite possibly be the best and most exciting decision you have ever made. I think we all come to a crossroads in our lives where we can make that big decision to reach our full potential, or where we can decide to stay exactly where we are, and be comfortable. I encourage you to take a leap of faith, leave your comfort zone and possibly be extremely uncomfortable, and just do what your heart calls for you to do. I guarantee, you will not regret it.

I chose to use a range of blue tones to evoke a calming and peaceful atmosphere, and also to display an appearance of the crisp blue sky. I used a combination of acrylic paint, tissue paper, papers of all types, crayons, and beeswax for this piece. I want this piece to focus on the positive aspects of making these life-altering decisions to be who you want to be, and not the moments when life gets really really tough and kicks you down along the path to your “final destination,” which happens to us all. Let me know what you all think!

"La Liberté de S’éleve" by Brittany Raeann, 2011, (12' x 12')

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

